Louisiana Adoption Information Laws

Lousiana adoption information laws

Lousiana adoption information lawsLouisiana Adoption Information Laws

Who May Access Information Citation: Ch. Code Art. 1126; 1270

The voluntary adoption registry may be used by:

  • The adopted person who is age 18 or older
  • The birth parents
  • The birth siblings who are age 18 or older

Nonidentifying information shall be provided to:

  • The adoptive parents
  • The adopted person who is age 18 or older
  • The birth parents

Access to Nonidentifying Information Citation: Ch. Code Art. 1126; 1127; 1127.1

The agency or person to whom surrender is made shall have the duty to make a good faith effort to obtain a state­ment of family history, containing nonidentifying medical and genetic information. The statement is to be delivered to the adopting parents at the time of placement.

The information shall be disclosed upon request to the adopted person at the age of 18, if the information was not previously disclosed.

Any child surrendered to an agency or a surrendering birth parent may, upon written request to an agency, obtain nonidentifying medical or genetic information from the agency without the necessity of filing a petition for disclosure from the agency.

After adoptive placement of the child, the agency or person to whom a surrender is made shall have a continuing duty to maintain these records and supplement them if additional nonidentifying medical or genetic information is received about the adopted child or a birth parent.

Mutual Access to Identifying Information Citation: Ch. Code Art. 1270

The department shall maintain a voluntary registry for the matching of adopted persons and birth parents or siblings, or both. The purpose of this registry shall be to facilitate voluntary contact between the adopted person and the birth parents or siblings, or both.

The use of the registry shall be limited to the adopted person who is at least 18 years of age, the birth mother, the birth father, and any birth sibling who is at least 18 years of age. No registration by an adopted person shall be per­mitted until all birth siblings who were adopted by the same adoptive parents have reached age 18.

The registry shall not release any information from adoption records in violation of the privacy or confidentiality rights of a birth parent who has not authorized the release of any information.

 

Access to Original Birth Certificate Citation: Rev. Stat. § 40:73

The original birth certificate is available:

  • Upon court order to the adopted person, or if deceased, the adopted person’s descendants, or the adoptive parent
  • To the agency that was a party to the adoption upon court order after a showing of compelling reasons

Where the Information Can Be Located Louisiana Voluntary Adoption Registry

If Louisiana adoption information laws change we will update this page.  Please let us know if you think this page needs updating.

About the author

DD

I found my birth family after 40 years of looking for them. I used DNA tests, software to sort DNA match results, family trees, contacting DNA matches and several website tools. We want to provide you a "one stop shop" with all your resources to help YOU find YOUR family.

Click here to add a comment

Leave a comment: